"Good for behaviour, Good for achievement, Good for teaching & learning, Good for leadership & management" - Ofsted, 2013

Cedars Upper School

Cedars images

PE

Team Leader: Mr B Kinloch
Deputy Leader: Mrs H Douglas

PE Staff:
Mr B Kinloch (FT): bkinloch@cedarsupper.org.uk
Mr S Carter (FT): scarter@cedarsupper.org.uk
Mrs H Douglas (PT): hdouglas@cedarsupper.org.uk
Mr J Risebrow (FT): jrisebrow@cedarsupper.org.uk
Mrs M Cullen (PT): mcullen@cedarsupper.org.uk
Mrs N Dunning (FT): ndunning@cedarsupper.org.uk

PE Uniform Guide - Click here
PE Fixtures Policy - Click here

The Physical Education department is staffed by four full-time specialist teachers and two part-time specialist teachers. All teachers possess excellent subject knowledge in addition to a range of outstanding sport specialisms.

The department offers the following courses:

  • Core PE – consisting of 4 hours physical activity every fortnight (for all Years 9, 10 and 11)
  • Core PE is available in the Sixth Form for certain option blocks
  • GCSE Full course PE
  • A Level Physical Education

Our GCSE results are consistently outstanding, achieving much higher grades than the national average.

Our A Level results are pleasing and our students receive regular lunchtime revision classes to support them in achieving their maximum potential.

Extra Curricular

The PE department offer a wide range of competitive and recreational extra-curricular activities, which take place at lunchtime and after school. This includes:
Sports Leaders, Hockey (indoor & Outdoor), Netball, Rounders, Rugby, Football, Basketball, Dodgeball, Handball, Badminton, Cross-country, Athletics, Tennis, Table Tennis, and Indoor Climbing. This selection is updated throughout the year.

picture of PE students running

 

 

 

 

 

A number of our students are very successful sports-people, representing district, regional and national sides in a wide range of sporting activities. A number of our teams also enjoy considerable regional success.

We are very proud that many of our students go on to study further sport courses in higher education such as physiotherapy, sports event management, sport technology and teaching.


Cedars run a unique sporting academy which offers courses throughout the year offering students locally and nationally a wide range of coaching and officiating opportunities.